Who will be able to challenge Rachel Atherton in 2016?

It is a bit tricky really because a few of the top 10 women are still to announce their plans for 2016. We have a pretty good idea who everyone is riding for, but it would be unprofessional of us to blab at this point. So for now you’ll just have to wait for a few of the blanks to be filled in.

What we can tell you is that if 2015 is anything to go by then the rest of the women’s field are going to have their work cut out if they want to catch up with Rachel Atherton. Just look at the stats from last season: she won both the World Cup Overall and the World Championships (winning the World Cup by 581 points!), she also won every single race and qualifying except for a second place in the Lourdes final and second in qualifying in Lenzerheide… bonkers. If you are a betting man/woman, stick your house on her!

Photos by Sebastian Schieck.

1. Rachel Atherton moves from GT to Trek.
2. Manon Carpenter stays with Madison Saracen.
3. Tahnee Seagrave from FMD Devinci to Transition Factory Racing.
4. Tracey Hannah stays with Polygon.
5. Emmeline Ragot retires... actually she can't make her mind up! We may see her on the MS Mondraker Team once or twice this year.
6. Myriam Nicole stays with Commencal.
7. Morganne Charre from Solid to Bergamont.
8. Casey Brown from Bergamont to Trek.
9. Emilie Siegenthaler stays with Pivot.
10. Katy Curd stays with Rose.
Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.