Dirt Irish Gravity Enduro - Dirt

Irish Gravity Enduro

Each race in the Irish Gravity Enduro Series is a two-day event with optional practice on Saturday and the race only on Sunday. The venues in the series all have their own unique terrain and challenges, but each course is approximately 25 km long. Riders can start the event in any order between 10am and 11.45am.

There are four or five mainly downhill ‘special stages’ in each event – the route to the start of each special stage is uphill, but there is no time limit to get there. The descents are technical in places to justify having to pedal a 150-160 mm travel bike all day, but organisers say that entrants can ride safely down the course without doing any major jumps or drops.

The series was first contested in 2012 – made up of four rounds plus the Series Championships at Bigwood Forest, Co. Down, the Pro Men’s overall winner was Joe Barnes, while the women’s prize went to Rose Griffin. In 2013, there were again four rounds, plus the Series Champs at Djouce Woods, Co. Wicklow and the Bluegrass Enduro at Ballyhoura, Co. Limerick – overall champions were Dan Wolfe and Katy Winton.

The 2014 search to find the best all-round mountain biker in Ireland will encompass five races at venues all around the country. The action kicked off at Ballinastoe, Co. Wicklow (where Gavin Carroll and Leah Maunsell emerged victorious) and will be followed by races at Ticknock, Ballyhoura, and the Series Champs at Djouce, before the final round in September at Carrick, Co.Wicklow.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.