iXS European Downhill Cup 2011 #1

Before you watch the video and look at the results it’s worth knowing that Tahnee Seagrave (in the Under 17 category) smashed the women’s race, finishing 1.6 seconds ahead of Elite female winner and World Cup racer Emilie Siegenthaler, who finished 7th out in South Africa. Markus Pekoll took the top spot in the men’s category with Brook Macdonald in 7th.

iXS European Downhill Cup 2011 #1 in Monte Tamaro/SUI >>

The first race of the season is always one of the most exciting, simply because no-one knows what form the bikers are in after the long winter break. So the kick-off in Monte Tamaro also served as the initial barometer for the coming racing season. The starting field included top-notch competitors, with numerous international racers taking on the highly challenging course. The topographic statistics and the expected long race time alone provided an indication of the level of difficulty of the route, beginning at the middle station of the mountain railway and ending at Rivera. The many high speed sections and extremely slippery ground conditions after rain on Friday also demanded concentration and, above all, stamina. The course, however, improved steadily until the final on Sunday, with perfect outdoor conditions on the actual race day.

The seeding run already provided a first indication of the favourites’ form. Nick Beer (SUI – Scott 11) and Emilie Siegenthaler (SUI – Scott 11) cemented their ambitions for the race on Sunday with best times. In the final instance, however, it’s all about being the fastest rider on race day and competition was stiff.

Excitement was high when the final of the Elite Men category took place. The Top 30 repeatedly smashed the lead time, with hardly anyone able to hold onto the Red Bull Hot Seat for long. The first serious contender to cross the finishing line was Brook MacDonald (AUS – MS Evil), but he was later pushed off the top spot by Marcel Beer (SUI – GT/iXS). Neither time was, however, good enough to take a place on the winners’ podium, with Lorenzo Suding (ITA – Pila-Black Arrows) gaining third place with a finishing time of 4:36. Joshua Button (AUS – SC-Intense) demonstrated his class with a lead of less than 3 tenths of a second to come second. Markus Pekoll (AUT – MS Evil), last but one to start, achieved the best time of 4 munites and 33 seconds. The only rider with a chance of beating him was Nick Beer, who however finished far down the field after falling.

Among the Elite Women Emilie Siegenthaler was able to defend her top position in the final, with a finishing time of 5:31 and a lead of over 25 seconds, thus achieving full points in the overall ranking. Second place was taken by Fanny Lombard (FRA – Team VTT Lozère), closely followed by Martina Brühlmann (SUI – Fatwork).


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.