we get confused at this time of the year as a flurry of press releases, social media posts and rumours can be overwhelming.

So we’ve had a quick look at last year’s top men’s downhill top 20 just to try and clear things up for everyone. This is not meant to be a complete run down of the 2017 grid, more of a reminder of what everyone is up to team wise. The women tend to announce their moves later, so we'll put up a post for them when we have more info.

Most of the changes this year are happening outside the top ten, but there's still going to be a few high profile moves with Troy Brosnan and Loris Vergier and others on new rides.

We're also only going to be publishing confirmed reports. There are a few we're unsure about and plenty of whispers we've heard but to avoid confusion we're only posting the facts. It would be unprofessional of us to blab at this point. So for now you’ll just have to wait for a few of the blanks to be filled in.

Finally, if we haven't heard that someone is leaving a team by now we've assumed they are staying, this could change but it's unlikely at this point.

We'll update this page as the news comes in so check back as often as possible to find out the latest.

Photos: Seb Schiek

Aaron Gwin

It just wasn't to be for Gwin, his quest for the rainbow stripes continues

Stays on the YT Mob.

Danny Hart


Stays on MS Mondraker.

Troy Brosnan

Stormtrooper Brosnan flashed through the dust

Leaves Specialized, joins Canyon Downhill Factory Team.

Greg Minnaar

Never count him out. Minnaar has been fettling all weekend to find that perfect set up

Stays on the Santa Cruz Syndicate.

Connor Fearon

Connor Fearon has had a great year. Twelfth in quali, but he will be looking to better that.

Stays on Kona Gravity.

Loic Bruni


World Cup #2 Cairns 2016

Loic Bruni

Stays on the Specialized Gravity Republic.

Loris Vergier

With Bruni out, Vergier is taking the lead role for the Gravity Republic

Joins the Santa Cruz Syndicate.

Remi Thirion

Thirion loves it steep but he also normally likes it a bit rougher than this

Stays on Commencal Vallnord DH Racing.

Luca Shaw

Did Rob Warner let slip a big secret about Luca Shaw yesterday?

Joins the Santa Cruz Syndicate.

Adam Brayton


Stays on Hope Factory Racing.

Gee Atherton

A near miss with a marshall didn't faze Gee - he finished fifth

Stays on Trek Factory Racing.

Florent Payet


Stays on VoulVoul Racing.

Mick Hannah

Another no-hander from Sik Mik

Stays on Polygon UR.

Laurie Greenland

WC_Lourdes_2016_14_5832 Laurie Greenland
WC_Lourdes_2016_14_5832 Laurie Greenland

Stays on MS Mondraker.

Bernard Kerr

21st will disappoint Bernard Kerr after a top ten last time out. He swaps out the unlucky 13 plate for 15

Stays on Pivot Factory Racing.

Greg Williamson

Williamson on the home straight could not afford any let up. Hart and Peaty pushed to 0.3 and 0.5 seconds

Stays on Cube Global Squad.

Brendan Fairclough

Brendan Fairclough entrapped in a footwear mind game or simple facts? Still undecided on what shoes to wear.

Stays on Scott but the team loses Gstaad as a title sponsor, new team name TBC.

George Brannigan

George Brannigan is really starting to pick it up at the end of the season, his second seventh in a row.

Stays on Commencal Vallnord DH.

Brook Macdonald

The Bulldog was super aggressive everywhere today
World Cup #6 Mont-Sainte-Anne 2016

Stays on GT Factory Racing.

Marcelo Gutierrez

Marcelo Gutierrez looked pretty quick through the slop.
crankworx day 2-16

Stays on Giant Factory Off-Road.

Best of the rest

Josh Bryceland (21st) has now announced he won't be racing World Cups next year. He'll still be racing and doing video projects for Santa Cruz though.

Josh Bryceland was finding grip where there really shouldn’t have been any in Sunday’s practice - it was a display of riding skill like no other. But as things dried out Ratboy lost a bit of the pace of the top dogs Bruni and Gwin, finishing four seconds

Joe Smith (23rd) joins Norco


Mark Wallace and Ruaridh Cunningham (26th) join Canyon Downhill Factory Team.


Alex Marin Trill (32nd) joins Madison Saracen.


David Trummer (35th) joins Propain Dirt Zelvy.


Kenta Gallagher (39th) picks up his first race seat on Polygon.

Kenta Gallagher
Kenta Gallagher

Eliot Jackson (40th) joins Giant.

Eliot Jackson
Eliot Jackson

Neko Mulally (68th) joins The YT Mob.


Jacob Dickson (74th) joins Giant

Jacob Dickson doing it for Orange Dirt.

There will be new teams for Gaeten Vige (2nd overall Juniors), Taylor Vernon (50th) and Charlie Harrison (56th).