Movers and shakers: downhill racer team changes 2017 - Men - Dirt

Mountain Biking Magazine



Movers and shakers: downhill racer team changes 2017 – Men

Who is going where?

we get confused at this time of the year as a flurry of press releases, social media posts and rumours can be overwhelming.

So we’ve had a quick look at last year’s top men’s downhill top 20 just to try and clear things up for everyone. This is not meant to be a complete run down of the 2017 grid, more of a reminder of what everyone is up to team wise. The women tend to announce their moves later, so we’ll put up a post for them when we have more info.

Most of the changes this year are happening outside the top ten, but there’s still going to be a few high profile moves with Troy Brosnan and Loris Vergier and others on new rides.

We’re also only going to be publishing confirmed reports. There are a few we’re unsure about and plenty of whispers we’ve heard but to avoid confusion we’re only posting the facts. It would be unprofessional of us to blab at this point. So for now you’ll just have to wait for a few of the blanks to be filled in.

Finally, if we haven’t heard that someone is leaving a team by now we’ve assumed they are staying, this could change but it’s unlikely at this point.

We’ll update this page as the news comes in so check back as often as possible to find out the latest.

Photos: Seb Schiek

Aaron Gwin

Stays on the YT Mob.

Danny Hart

Stays on MS Mondraker.

Troy Brosnan

Leaves Specialized, joins Canyon Downhill Factory Team.

Greg Minnaar

Stays on the Santa Cruz Syndicate.

Connor Fearon

Stays on Kona Gravity.

Loic Bruni

Stays on the Specialized Gravity Republic.

Loris Vergier

Joins the Santa Cruz Syndicate.

Remi Thirion

Stays on Commencal Vallnord DH Racing.

Luca Shaw

Joins the Santa Cruz Syndicate.

Adam Brayton

Stays on Hope Factory Racing.

Gee Atherton

Stays on Trek Factory Racing.

Florent Payet

Stays on VoulVoul Racing.

Mick Hannah

Stays on Polygon UR.

Laurie Greenland

Stays on MS Mondraker.

Bernard Kerr

Stays on Pivot Factory Racing.

Greg Williamson

Stays on Cube Global Squad.

Brendan Fairclough

Stays on Scott but the team loses Gstaad as a title sponsor, new team name TBC.

George Brannigan

Stays on Commencal Vallnord DH.

Brook Macdonald

Stays on GT Factory Racing.

Marcelo Gutierrez

Stays on Giant Factory Off-Road.

Best of the rest

Josh Bryceland (21st) has now announced he won’t be racing World Cups next year. He’ll still be racing and doing video projects for Santa Cruz though.

Joe Smith (23rd) joins Norco

Mark Wallace and Ruaridh Cunningham (26th) join Canyon Downhill Factory Team.

Alex Marin Trill (32nd) joins Madison Saracen.

David Trummer (35th) joins Propain Dirt Zelvy.

Kenta Gallagher (39th) picks up his first race seat on Polygon.

Eliot Jackson (40th) joins Giant.

Neko Mulally (68th) joins The YT Mob.

Jacob Dickson (74th) joins Giant

There will be new teams for Gaeten Vige (2nd overall Juniors), Taylor Vernon (50th) and Charlie Harrison (56th).



Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.