New course unveiled for the 2014 Red Bull Rampage

The Red Bull Rampage has become a somewhat iconic event in the world of mountain biking thanks to boundaries continually being pushed at the event. Over the years the Rampage course has changed from time to time in order to keep help pushing things forward, and this year Red Bull obviously felt it was once again time for change. Part of the whole idea of Rampage is to create a new line down a mountain that on first appearance seems almost unrideable, but with so many lines having been built over the years that was no longer the case on the old course. For 2014 though it will be all be as fresh as a daisy, an entirely new test.

Rather than upping sticks completely, Red Bull have decided turn things around by literally turning around and using the other side of the current mountain. This 'backside' should be more sheltered from any winds, and the riders will no longer have to ride headfirst into the blazing sun. So, definitely better for riders but it'll be interesting to see how the filmers and photographers cope with what will be more challenging conditions for them.

We can't wait to see what the riders manage to create and ride on this new blank canvas, but in the meantime you can find out even more about the new course, and read an interview with Cam McCaul about it, over at the Red Bull site.

Who is going to be taking on the challenge of the new 2014 Red Bull rampage course? This motley crew...

Pre Qualified to Finals

Garett Buehler CAN

Pierre Edouard Ferry FRA

Brendan Fairclough GBR

Thomas Genon BEL

Ramon Hunziker SWI

Andreu Lacondeguy SPN

Cam McCaul USA

Kelly McGarry NZL

Mike Montgomery USA

Brandon Semenuk CAN

Kurt Sorge CAN

Kyle Strait USA

Cameron Zink USA

Qualifier List

Paul Basagoitia USA

Logan Binggeli USA

Graham Agassiz CAN

Gee Atherton GBR

Robbie Bourdon CAN

Antoine Bizet FRA

Mitch Chubey USA

Mick Hannah USA

Darren Berrecloth CAN

James Doerfling CAN

Yannick Granieri FRA

Geoff Gulevich CAN

Makken Haugen NOR

Jeff Herbertson CAN

Mike Hopkins CAN

Ryan Howard USA

Brendan Howey CAN

Kyle Jameson USA

Bernard Kerr GBR

Anthony Messere CAN

Kyle Norbraten CAN

Logan Peat CAN

Brett Rheeder CAN

Anton Thelander SWE

Chris Van Dine USA

Tom Van Steenbergen CAN

Thomas Vanderham CAN

Nico Vink BEL

Wil White USA

Get more from Red Bull Rampage through these links:



Red Bull Rampage: Action Cam with Pierre Edouard FERRY