Well here's a surprise... Aaron Gwin is normally a rider who keeps his powder dry in timed training, but in Lenzerheide he's ripping up the rulebook and smashed out a run nearly four seconds quicker than the competition.

Last year's winner, Greg Minnaar was in second place with Mick Hannah third, Bernard Kerr fourth and Connor Fearon fifth. Gwin's winning time was a 3:08 though, still eight seconds off Minnaar's winning time of last year, so don't think this is a done deal just yet.

In the women's competition it was Tracey Hannah who started the weekend well, also four seconds clear of her nearest rival, Manon Carpenter second with Emilie Siegenthaler third. These three were the class of the day as fourth placed Alia Marcellini was a further 13 seconds back. Chasing her 11th successive win, Rachel Atherton was 12th but didn't put a full run together.

In the juniors, Sylvain Cougoureux took top spot.

As always it's worth mentioning this means nothing in the grand scheme of things, but it looks like Gwin's in the mood to party this weekend.

Lenzerheide 2016 Men's time training

Men's timed training Lenzerheide 2016 by Dirt Magazine on Scribd

Lenzerheide 2016 women's time training

Women's timed training Lenzerheide 2016 by Dirt Magazine on Scribd


Lenzerheide time training juniors by Dirt Magazine on Scribd