Gee Atherton wins 2012 British National Champs. Full results

Mountain Biking Magazine



Gee Atherton wins 2012 British National Champs. Full results

Gee and Rachel Atherton win the 2012 National Championships at Moelfre.

Wow! What a perfect weekend for racing. After weeks of rain the sun came out at Moelfre to make an amazing dry and dusty 2012 National Champs. The wind picked up a touch making it tough going on the exposed Welsh hillside.

Gee took the Elite win by 2 seconds from Josh Bryceland with old-Skool Steve Peat giving the youngsters a hiding in 3rd place on the box.

From the Twittersphere:

@gee_atherton “What a day. Feels amazing to be British Champion again… Dead happy to take the win and Rach killed it aswel! Solid race.”

@RachelAtherton “Whataday!Affy 3rd at MegaAvalanche, Gee and I national Champions.Bin a long time since we both won this one. happy and proud to be british…”

@ManonCarpenter “Too many mistakes in finals to put together a decent race run… Still felt strong in practise and loved the track!”

Click for full National Champ Results

Juvenile Men: James Purvis 2:54.061
Youth Men: Taylor Vernon 2:38.184
Grand Veteran Men: Howard Stuttard 3:06.178
Veteran Men 45-49: John Cobb 2:50.396
Veteran Men 40-44: Nigel Page 2:41.051
Master Men 35-39: Christopher Whitfield 2:39.785
Master Men 30-34: Richard Cunynghame 2:41.117
Senior Men Non-Championship: Jake Ward 2:35.040
Women Non-Championship: Kerry Wrigglesworth 3:14.295
Elite Women: Rachel Atherton 2:39.012
Junior Men: Joseph Connell 2:31.718
Championship Men: Gee Atherton 2:25.938


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.