Good news for the Fort. Anyone who was at the Worlds knows what a sweet job the organizers did, they only once ran out of chocolate hob knobs in the press tent.

FORT WILLIAM WINS EVENT OF THE YEAR 2007 14.1.2008 For the 3rd consecutive year, the international mountain bike teams, tech support and race organizers organization (IMTTO) has awarded the prestigious "IMTTO Event Of The Year" trophy to Rare Management.

In 2007 they were the organizers of the UCI Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships in the classic venue of Fort William, Scotland. Close to 60 members voted (teams and tech support companies only), and of the 25 events voted for, it was clear that Fort William was again the obvious favorite.

Unlike other awards, this one recognizes any mountain bike event held in 2007, and is voted on by the industry main players when it comes to mountain bike racing and events.

For the second year in a row, the members voted the Mont-Sainte-Anne World Cup as the 2nd best event (and therefore the best World Cp of 2007), very closely followed by the Houffalize World Cup. The highest ranked non-World Cup, non-World Championship event was the Roc d'Azur held in Southern France.

"The feedback we get from our members in this voting process is extremely valuable. We pass on that constructive feedback to the various organizers in order to help them further improve their already excellent events. As an organization, the role of IMTTO is to further assist the events in their growth and therefore further secure the future of mountain bike racing as a viable sport for our members. The trophy we have awarded to Rare Management symbolizes this aim." - IMTTO President, Martin Whiteley.


1. UCI Mountain Bike World Championships - Fort William, Scotland

2. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Mont-Sainte-Anne, Canada

3. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Houffalize, Belgium

4. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Maribor, Slovenia

5. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Offenburg, Germany

6. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Vigo, Spain

7. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Schladming, Austria

8. Roc d'Azur - Frejus, France

9. Kokanee Crankworx - Whistler Mountain, Canada

10. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Champery, Switzerland

11. Nissan UCI Mountain Bike World Cup - Saint Felicien, Canada

12. Bundesliga Cross Country National - Heubach, Germany

13. Swisspower Cup - Bern, Switzerland

14. Absa Cape Epic - South Africa

15. Lisbon Downtown - Lisbon, Portugal

16. Bundesliga Cross Country National - Munsingen, Germany

17. US Open - Diablo Park, NJ, USA

18. Bearclaw Invitational - Mountain Washington, Canada

19. Swisspower Cup - Schaan, Switzerland

20. Sea Otter Classic - Monterey, CA, USA