Mountain Biking Magazine




British Cycling have announced the names of 50 cycling heroes in a new hall of fame.

First question has to be…where is World Champion Steve Peat?!

Okay I know they state that they “…made a conscious decision not to select elite riders who are still competing at an international level or coaches and managers at the top of their game.” but come on…this is Steve Peat!


British Cycling has today revealed the names of 50 cycling heroes who have been selected for induction into its Hall of Fame to celebrate the organisation’s 50 years as the national governing body for cycling.

Since launching the initiative earlier this year, British Cycling has received over 300 nominations from the public, ranging from male and female riders, coaches and team managers, sport administrators and volunteers to cycling public figures instrumental in progressing the sport.

A Hall of Fame panel, consisting of cycling journalists and British Cycling representatives, has made a unanimous decision to recognise past cycling achievements over current cycling successes to make the first Hall of Fame a tribute to the sport’s and the organisation’s past five decades.

Victoria Pendleton MBE, panel member, said: “We made a conscious decision not to select elite riders who are still competing at an international level or coaches and managers at the top of their game. We also agreed we should recognise administrators and volunteers who have been active in the sport over many years and have made a significant contribution to it during that time. There have also been several posthumous awards.”

British Cycling’s President, Brian Cookson OBE, who chaired the panel, said: “The response we’ve had from the public for the Hall of Fame has been phenomenal and choosing just 50 individuals out of over a hundred proved very challenging. With such a fantastic number of nominations this year we have decided to make the Hall of Fame an annual event to enable us to recognise more recent and current cycling successes.”

The 50 cycling heroes will be officially induced into the British Cycling Hall of Fame when the organisation concludes its 50th year anniversary celebrations at its Gala Dinner, which will be held at Manchester Central on 20 February 2010.

The 50 cycling heroes to be inducted into the 2009 British Cycling Hall of Fame are as follows, arranged alphabetically:

Pat Adams

Caroline Alexander

Brian Annable

David Baker

Sid Barras

Stuart Benstead

Chris Boardman MBE

Bill Bradley

Beryl Burton OBE

Keith Butler

Arthur Campbell MBE

Brian Cossavella

Doug Dailey MBE

Tony Doyle MBE

Ian Emmerson OBE

Malcolm Elliott

Benny Foster OBE

Tim Gould

Eileen Gray CBE

Dave Hemsley

Barry Hoban

Dale Holmes

Mandy Jones

Peter Keen OBE

Peter King CBE

Stan Kite

Phil Liggett MBE

Craig Maclean

Paul Manning MBE

John & Doreen Mallinson

Yvonne McGregor MBE

Gerry McDaid

Jason McRoy

Chas Messenger

George Millar

Robert Millar

Graeme Obree

Hugh Porter MBE

Jason Queally MBE

John Rawnsley

Brian Robinson

Alan Rushton

Tom Simpson

Eddie Soens

Colin Sturgess

Dot Tilbury MBE

Graham Webb

Les West

Sean Yates

Tony Yorke OBE

Members of the 2009 British Cycling Hall of Fame panel include: British Cycling’s President Brian Cookson OBE, Guardian’s Cycling Correspondent William Fotheringham, Cycling Weekly’s Editor Robert Garbutt, current Olympic and World Champion Victoria Pendleton MBE, British Cycling’s Executive Director Peter King CBE and Cycling Commentator Hugh Porter MBE.

For more information about the Hall of Fame please visit


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.